Advisory Council on Economic Growth through Diversity and Inclusion

The Advisory Council

The Comptroller’s Advisory Council on Economic Growth through Diversity and Inclusion serves as a partner in efforts to increase supplier diversity through transparency, accountability and disclosure in the public and private sectors. Members of the Council hail from a wide variety of local and national backgrounds including supplier diversity procurement specialists, government, business and community leaders, academics, and advocacy organizations.


  • Mr. Robert Abreu, Vice-President, Goldman Sachs
  • Mr. Vincent Alvarez, President, New York City Central Labor Council
  • Ms. Pilar Avila, New America Alliance
  • Ms. Deborah Axt and Mr. Javier Valdes, Co-Executive Directors, Make the Road New York
  • Ms. Neeta Bhasin, President and Chief Executive Officer, ASB Communications
  • Mr. Derrick Brown, Executive Director, National Gay and Lesbian Chamber of Commerce New York
  • Mr. José Calderón, President, Hispanic Federation
  • Ms. Alejandra Y. Castillo, Esq., National Director, Minority Business Development Agency
  • Mr. Louis J. Coletti, President and Chief Executive Officer, Building Trades Employers’ Association
  • The Reverend Jacques DeGraff, Minister, Canaan Baptist Church
  • Mr. Lloyd Douglas, Consultant, Lloyd Douglas Consulting Company
  • Dr. Hazel N. Dukes, President, NAACP New York State Conference
  • Dr. Marsha Firestone, President and Founder, Women Presidents’ Educational Organization – NY
  • Mr. José Garcia, Program Officer, Strong Local Economies, Surdna Foundation
  • Mr. Michael Garner, Chief Diversity Officer, Metropolitan Transportation Authority
  • Mr. Robert Greene, Special Advisor, National Association of Investment Companies
  • Mr. Jay Hershenson, Senior Vice Chancellor, City University of New York
  • Ms. Jill Houghton, Executive Director, U.S. Business Leadership Network
  • Mr. Gary LaBarbera, President, Building and Construction Trades Council of Greater New York
  • Mr. Hong Shing Lee, Executive Director, CMP
  • Ms. Annie Minguez, Director of Community Relations, Good Shepherd Services
  • Mr. Marc Morial, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Urban League
  • Ms. Ana Oliveira, President and Chief Executive Officer, New York Women’s Foundation
  • Mr. Quentin Roach, Chief Procurement Officer, Merck & Co., Inc.
  • Ms. Lillian Rodriguez Lopez, Director, Latin Affairs, The Coca-Cola Company
  • Ms. Bazah Roohi, President and Founder, American Council of Minority Women
  • The Reverend Al Sharpton, National Action Network
  • Mr. Ruben Taborda, Chief Procurement Officer, Medical Devices, Johnson & Johnson
  • Ms. Elizabeth Velez, President, Velez Organization
  • Ms. Bonnie Wong, President, Asian Women in Business
  • Ms. Joset B. Wright-Lacy, President, National Minority Supplier Development Council
  • Mr. Charles Yoon, Partner, Yoon & Kim LLP